

## **Accountability Working Committee**

Georgia's State Plan: Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

This committee will examine Georgia's current accountability platform, the College and Career Ready Performance Index (CCRPI), and help make refinements to the model, taking a responsible approach to accountability and finding a way to represent school performance in a public-friendly manner. The goal is to develop a tool that is flexible enough to align with the individual strategic goals of schools and districts, capturing and encouraging innovation while also providing useful data to guide improvement. The end result should be less cumbersome and burdensome for districts and schools, while still providing an accurate assessment of student achievement and school quality.

#### **SCOPE**

Refinement/Enhancements of CCRPI as well as incorporating new indicators and subgroup reporting as required by ESSA

#### **CHARGE**

- Develop feedback questions for stakeholders for feedback sessions throughout the state
- Discuss stakeholder input, U.S. Department of Education's (USED) regulations/guidance, focus areas identified by the State Advisory Committee, and working committee-assigned portions of **ESSA**
- Coordinate with other working committees to write Georgia's draft state plan

#### **ACCOUNTABILITY**

Georgia's ESSA Working Committees report to GaDOE's ESSA Leadership Team throughout the development process. The ESSA Leadership Team will ensure that benchmarks are being met and working committees are coordinating efforts to produce a cohesive draft ESSA State Plan.

The draft ESSA State Plan will be presented to the Advisory Committee for feedback. There will also be a review period for the public, State School Superintendent, State Board of Education, and Governor's Office.

### **BENCHMARKS**

Month	Purpose	
July 2016	Charge, Orientation, Overview and committee-specific information	
Aug-Oct	Stakeholder feedback will be shared with Working Committees as it is received*	
Oct-Nov	Draft ESSA State Plan developed*	
Dec	Presentation to Advisory Committee	



# **Accountability Working Committee**

Georgia's State Plan: Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

Jan 2017 Public comment period; Governor, State Board of Education, State School

Superintendent review; Overview to the House and Senate Education

Committees

Feb If necessary, reconvene the Advisory Committee to make revisions

Submit Georgia's ESSA State Plan to USED Mar

Note: Timeline and submission date tentative pending guidance from USED; USED must approve state plan no later than 120 days after submission. \*Working Committees have the flexibility to meet as needed via-face-to-face or teleconference.

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

Member	Position	Agency/District
Allison Timberlake	Director of Accountability	Georgia Department of Education
Chair		
Molly Howard	Superintendent	Jefferson County Schools
Co-Chair		
Karl Mercer	Director of Accountability	Forsyth County Schools
Michele Sherman	Assistant Superintendent of Student Learning	Columbia County Schools
Terry Sapp	Director of High Schools	Hall County Schools
Louise Hutchins	Director of Testing & Data	Walton County Schools
Christopher Watkins	Principal	Treutlen High School, Treutlen County Schools
Lamont Sheffield	Assistant Principal	Baker Middle School, Muscogee County Schools
Sherri Moorman	Principal	East Laurens Primary School, Laurens County Schools
Cindy Marzen	Teacher, System Teacher of the Year	Tift County Schools
Kevin Tashlein	Strategy and Performance Officer	Gwinnett County Schools
Jenny Rooks	Director of Instructional Student Supports	Monroe County Schools
Sam Rauschenberg	Deputy Director, Research, Policy, & Accountability	Governor's Office of Student Achievement
David Dude	Superintendent	Decatur City Schools
Dexter Mills	Executive Director	Northwest Georgia RESA
Mark Scott	Superintendent	Houston County Schools
Becky Chambers	Educator	Georgia Department of Education
Levette Williams	Chief Privacy Officer	Georgia Department of Education
Stephen Owens	Education Research Analyst	Georgia Department of Education
Zelphine Dixon	Assistant Director, Special Education	Georgia Department of Education
Barbara Wall	Director of CTAE	Georgia Department of Education