Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

GaDOE Organization Structure


The Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) oversees public education throughout the state.

The Department of Education ensures that laws and regulations pertaining to education are followed and that state and federal money appropriated for education is properly allocated to local school systems.

We also provide education-related information to students, parents, teachers, educational staff, government officials, and the media. We hope this information will help answer people’s questions, empower them with resources, and allow them to navigate the state’s educational infrastructure with a minimum of difficulty. 

State School Superintendent​

Richard Woods
404 656-2800

state.superintendent@doe.k12.ga.us

Business Operations

Chief of Staff
Matt Jones 
mattjones@doe.k12.ga.us​​

 

Finance and Business Operations

Chief Financial Officer

Ted Beck

tbeck@doe.k12.ga.us​

 

Legal Services

General Counsel​
Stacey Suber-Drake
sdrake@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Technology Services​

Chief Information Officer
Robert Swiggum
rswiggum@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Academic Affairs

 

Policy and Charter Schools

Deputy Superintendent​
Garry McGiboney, Ph.D.
gmcgiboney@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Assessment and Accountability
Deputy Superintendent
Melissa Fincher
mfincher@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Teaching and Learning

Deputy Superintendent​
Caitlin Dooley, Ph.D.
cdooley@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Federal Programs
Deputy Superintendent

Deborah Gay

dgay@doe.k12.ga.us

 

School Improvement

Deputy Superintendent​
Avis King
aking@doe.k12.ga.us

 

 

 

 ​

​​​​​​