Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

GaDOE Organization Structure


The Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) oversees public education throughout the state. It ensures that laws and regulations pertaining to education are followed and that state and federal money appropriated for education is properly allocated to local school systems. We also provide education-related information to students, parents, teachers, educational staff, government officials, and the media. We hope this information will help answer people’s questions, empower them with resources, and allow them to navigate the state’s educational infrastructure with a minimum of difficulty. 

Business Operations
 
Chief of Staff
Matt Jones 
mattjones@doe.k12.ga.us
Chief Financial Officer
Ted Beck
tbeck@doe.k12.ga.us​
 
Legal Services
General Counsel​
Stacey Suber-Drake
sdrake@doe.k12.ga.us
 
Chief Information Officer
Robert Swiggum
rswiggum@doe.k12.ga.us
 
Academic Affairs
 
 
Associate Superintendent​
Garry McGiboney
gmcgiboney@doe.k12.ga.us
 
Assessment and Accountability
Deputy Superintendent
Melissa Fincher
mfincher@doe.k12.ga.us
 
Teaching and Learning
Deputy Superintendent​
Caitlin Dooley, Ph.D.
cdooley@doe.k12.ga.us
 
Federal Programs
Deputy Superintendent
Deborah Gay
 
Deputy Superintendent​
Avis King
aking@doe.k12.ga.us​​
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

​​​​​​