Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

 Superintendent's Parent Advisory Council

The Superintendent's Parent Advisory Council

​What is a Parent Advisory Council (PAC)?

The State School Superintendent’s Parent Advisory Council is a group of parents from across the state that provides input on new policies, projects, and materials that impact students and their families. Advisory Council members are particularly focused on how to increase parent and family engagement to ensure student academic success. Members serve as advisors and meet with the State School Superintendent several times throughout their two-year term.

Who Serves on the PAC?

There are approximately 31 PAC members whose participation is staggered in two-year terms. In addition to the PAC members, the winners of the annual Parent Leadership Awards​​ are invited to be honorary PAC members for one year. To include community partnerships, there are six community organizations selected to participate on the PAC.

How Are Parents Nominated to Serve on the PAC?

Parents are nominated to serve on the PAC by their local school districts at the beginning of each school year. A principal of a Georgia Title I school may nominate a parent to represent the school and the district. Only one nomination per school district is accepted. PAC members are chosen based on their capacity to lead, current levels of involvement in their child's school, and responses to application questions. 

2018-2019 PAC Members

Tracy Bain

Troup County

Ronald Baker

Treutlen County​

Aimee Buchanan

Paulding County

Debbie Cartee

Atlanta Public Schools

Ira Caslin-Smith

Griffin-Spalding County

Adrienne Clay Williams

Terrell County

Leigh Dale

Pelham City Schools

Sherri English

Bibb County

Lakishia D. Evans

Marion County

Stacey Flagg

Utopian Charter Academy

Nicole Fleming

Social Circle City

Gregory Ford

Bartow County

Shana Garner

Tift County

Brittany Hatcher

Rome City Schools

Shamira Herring

Decatur County

Chad Houck

Carrollton City Schools

Angel Javier Rosario

Gainesville City

Jessica Jones

Thomas County

Emily C. Mercer

Forsyth County

Vickie Nickel

Monroe County

Scott Powell

Pickens County

Stephenie Ragan

Johnson County

Jill Repp

Calhoun City

John Requarth

Cobb County

Sam Robinson

Bulloch County

Gary Rosser

Jones County

Danielle Sayre

Chatham County

Jodi Snipes

Thomasville City

Elaine Stokes

Burke County

Ghazala “Annette” Turabi

Richmond County

State Organizational Members
Mula Xavier Parent to Parent of Georgia
To be Determined Communities In Schools of Georgia
Donna Kosicki Georgia Parent Teacher Association (PTA)
Magda Perez United Way of Greater Atlanta
Rachael Oliver Georgia Family Connection Partnership
Emily Smith Bright From the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning