

Advisory Committee Session 3 March, 14 2024

Opening: Dr. Naesha Parks, Educator Support Services Program Specialist, and Dr. Jertarius Cook, Educator Development and Support Program Manager, updated committee members on the progress of the GaLEADS pilot implementation. Advisory committee members represented teachers, school and district administrators, higher education institutions, and state educational organizations.

Overview: The Accomplished Teacher Designation and Leader Effectiveness Indicators 7.1 and 7.2 of ACCELERATE were presented to the group for feedback from all stakeholders.

Discussion: Dr. April Howard and Dr. Russ Cook from the Carl Vinson Institute of Government led a focused discussion on the significance of the Accomplished Teacher Designation. They encouraged committee members to explore ways to better highlight and acknowledge the accomplishment of earning this designation. Additionally, they reviewed ACCELERATE Effectiveness Indicators 7.1 and 7.2 using a discussion/analysis protocol to ensure a tight alignment between effective leader practices and teacher expectations.

Key Takeaways:

- Committee members discussed several strategies to consider that would elevate the Accomplished Teacher Designation. Sample suggestions included:
 - Consider providing a state conference for Accomplished Teachers only.
 - Create an Accomplished Teacher Advisory Committee.
 - Provide professional development options designed and/or curated specifically for Accomplished Teachers.
- ACCELERATE discussions included strengths of the pilot such as strong indicators and rubric
 descriptions to help all leaders be reflective and grow as well as areas to consider for future revisions to
 ensure a common language that encourages leaders to effectively attain the level of Synergistic.
- Committee members agree that ACCELERATE provides clarity and understanding for leaders and teachers and encourages a better understanding of what effective leadership look like for all educators.

Closing: Dr. Naesha Parks thanked the Advisory Committee for their feedback and participation throughout the year.