Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Georgia RISE Award

Each year, the U.S. Department of Education awards the Recognizing Inspirational School Employees (RISE) Award to a full- or part-time classified school employee who provides exemplary service to students in pre-kindergarten through high school.

Georgia runs a state-level process, the Georgia RISE Award, to select its nominees. The two winners of this state-level recognition are nominated for the national award.

Georgia Winners

2023 - Bruce Ballard and Gina Whitaker​

​2022 - Marissa Ramos-Santana and Jacob Wise​​

​20​​21 - Nadia Jones and A​nna Singleton​

2020 - Harold Quarterman and Officer Lee Peck​

Complete list of Georgia RISE Award Winners


​Employees in the following job categories are eligible for consideration for the Georgia RISE Award. These categories are set in statute for the national award:

  • Clerical and Administrative Services
  • Custodial and Maintenance Services
  • Food and Nutrition Services
  • Health and Student Services
  • Paraprofessional
  • Security Services
  • Skilled Trades
  • Technical Services
  • Transportation Services​​

2023 Timeline

August 15: 2023 Georgia RISE Award nomination window opens 

September 30: Nomination window closes at 5 p.m.

October: Nomination review period 

November 1: Georgia RISE Awards winners announced by the Governor's Office

 Contact Information

Arlecia Brooks
Excellence Recognition Specialist​

 District Coordinators

​​​Are you a new district coordinator? ​Please complete the Excellence ​Recognition Programs Coordinator​ 
c​ontact form.​

 Nomination Form

​Nominations must be made by a district- or school-level employee.
The nomination window for the
2023 RISE Award closed September 30 at 5 p.m.