Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Superintendent Cox's Statement on Charter Schools Commission Vote

 MEDIA CONTACT : GaDOE Communications office, (404) 651-7358,    December 14, 2009  -- State Superintendent of Schools  Kathy Cox  released the following statement today regarding the  Georgia Charter Schools Commission's  approval of seven new charter schools:   "I fully support high-quality charter schools because they give choices to parents and students and also come with the same accountability as all public schools. After the approval of seven new Commission charter schools today, it is apparent that the Commission used a rigorous process to ensure that quality public school options continue to be available for Georgia school children. We look forward to working with the Commission to ensure that these new schools achieve the rigorous student achievement goals set forth in their charters."    MORE INFORMATION:   Georgia Charter Schools Commission website:     List of Seven Approved Commission Charter Schools : - Pataula Charter Academy - Calhoun, Clay, Early, Randolph,and Baker counties  - Atlanta Heights Charter School - Atlanta Public Schools  - Fulton Leadership Academy - Fulton County Schools  - The Museum School of Avondale Estates - DeKalb County Schools  - Peachtree Hope Charter School DeKalb County - DeKalb County Schools  - Coweta Charter Academy at Senoia - Coweta County Schools  - Heron Bay Academy - Henry and Griffin-Spalding Counties