Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

Barrow County Educator Named National Principal of the Year

 MEDIA CONTACT :  - GaDOE Communications Office, (404) 651-7358 or          *Follow us on  Twitter  and  Facebook *  - National Association of Secondary School Principals, Bob Farrace, (703) 860-7257 or      NOTE : To speak to Dr. Kahrs, please contact Lisa Leighton at (678) 425-2801 or .        SEPTEMBER 9, 2009  -- Dr. Sheila Kahrs, of Haymon-Morris Middle School in Barrow County, was named the 2010 Middle School Principal of the Year today, making it three years in a row that a principal from Georgia has received a national award.     "Sheila Kahrs is an exceptional principal who has helped the students of Haymon-Morris Middle School make tremendous strides in increasing achievement," said State Superintendent of Schools Kathy Cox. "She’s a leader who uses data to make informed decisions and empowers her teachers to be leaders so they are motivated to get the most out of students. She’s very deserving of this award and I am very proud of her and her team at Haymon-Morris Middle School."     Superintendent Cox and officials from the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) surprised Kahrs during an assembly at her school. Local and state officials were also on hand to present Kahrs with the award. A plaque from Superintendent Cox and the State Board of Education was presented to Kahrs during the ceremony.     Mark Wilson, of Morgan County High School, was the NASSP High School Principal of the Year for 2009 and Molly Howard, of Jefferson County High School, was the NASSP High School Principal of the Year for 2008.     "The fact that a National Principal of the Year has come from Georgia for three consecutive years is a testament to the quality of our school leaders in Georgia," Superintendent Cox said. "Sheila, Mark and Molly are just three of the many great principals we have throughout the state."    ABOUT SHEILA KAHRS      In 2005, Dr. Kahrs was named the principal of Haymon-Morris Middle School in Winder, Georgia. During her tenure, she has implemented innovative strategies such as "vertical teaming" that gives her teachers time to work closely with elementary school and high school teachers to set common expectations. To allow all the necessary collaboration to take place, teachers are ensured 90 minutes of common planning time each day and are required to meet daily as a team, meet with parents as a team, and structure all exams together so students have a common assessment in each subject per grade level. Under Kahr’s leadership, two of her assistant principals have gone on to be principals of their own schools. Haymon-Morris Middle School is part of the Barrow County Public School system, under the leadership of Superintendent Dr. Ron Saunders.     MORE INFORMATION   - MetLife/NASSP National Principal of the Year Awards:    - Haymon-Morris Middle School:    - 2009 Principal of the Year Mark Wilson:    - 2008 Principal of the Year Molly Howard: