Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

2012 Georgia Teacher of the Year Finalists Announced

 Ten Teachers Chosen from 154 Applications     MEDIA CONTACT : Matt Cardoza, GaDOE Communications Office, (404) 651-7358,  - Follow us on  Twitter  and  Facebook     March 1, 2011  -- State School Superintendent Dr. John Barge announced today the finalists for 2012 Georgia Teacher of the Year.   The 10 finalists were chosen from a pool of 154 applicants who were selected as the Teacher of the Year in their school districts. The applications were read by a panel of judges that included teachers, past Georgia Teacher of the Year winners and finalists, administrators, community leaders and others. The finalists were chosen based on the strength of their essay responses.   "This is a strong group of outstanding educators who would each make a terrific 2012 Georgia Teacher of the Year," said Superintendent Barge. "Congratulations to the finalists and to all those who applied for consideration. I know the judges had a very difficult job choosing just 10 finalists from this group of applicants."   Over the next several weeks, a panel of judges will observe and interview each of the finalists. The finalists will also give a speech at a luncheon sponsored by Georgia Power on April 1. The winner will be announced at the Georgia Teacher of the Year banquet on May 6, 2011, at the Georgia World Congress Center. The banquet, paid for through donations from sponsors, will honor each local district Teacher of the Year. A reception hosted by United Healthcare will be held prior to the banquet.   The 2012 Georgia Teacher of the Year will travel around the state and the nation, serving as an ambassador for the teaching profession. The winner will also be entered in the National Teacher of the Year competition.  The 2011 Georgia Teacher of the Year is Ms. Pam Williams, a teacher at Appling County High School. To learn more about Ms. Williams and the Teacher of the Year program, click on the following link:       2012 Georgia Teacher of the Year Finalists   (in alphabetical order by district)  Teacher, Subject, System, School    Jadun O. McCarthy , English Language Arts  Bibb County, Northeast Health Science Magnet High School    Ashlee J. Mitchell , Speech-Language Pathology  Bulloch County, Stilson Elementary School    Vicki Tarleton , Mathematics  Columbia County, Grovetown High School    Nancy Williams , Social Skills  Coweta County, Madras Middle School    Beth Sciarro , Reading  Houston County, Northside Elementary    Ivy K. Smith , Mathematics  Lowndes County, Pine Grove Middle    Christine W. Powell , Journalism, Art History and Literature  Muscogee County, Northside High School    Lisa Boyd , English Language Arts  Rockdale County, Salem High School    Melissa Webb , Second Grade  Savannah-Chatham, West Chatham Elementary School    Nancy C. Rogers , Literature  Thomas County, Thomas County Central High School   The Georgia Teacher of the Year Program is sponsored by  United Healthcare.