Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

State Superintendent-Elect John Barge Names Superintendent Bryant to be Vice-Chair of Transition Advisory Committee

 Hall County Superintendent Will Schofield Named Chair     MEDIA CONTACT : Matt Cardoza, GaDOE Communications Office, (404) 651-7358,  - Follow us on  Twitter  and  Facebook     December 3, 2010  -- State School Superintendent-elect Dr. John Barge today named Superintendent Brad Bryant Vice-Chair of his Transition Advisory Committee.   "John has assembled quite a team that I know will provide extremely valuable input," said Superintendent Bryant. "I am thrilled that he has asked me and some of our State Board of Education members to be a part of it because it ensures the smoothest possible transition."   State Board Members Dr. Mary Sue Murray and Dr. Jim Bostic, who will serve on the transition committee, echoed that sentiment. "We look forward to this opportunity to serve and believe that this will set a positive tone for our work over the next four years. Georgia's students should be the primary beneficiaries of this effort."   Superintendent-elect Barge also named a list of Transition Advisory Committee members today, which include many other well-respected educators, business leaders and legislators. Others will be added to the committee in the coming weeks.   "I am honored that so many outstanding individuals are willing to give their time and expertise," said Superintendent-elect Barge. "I look forward to working with each of them, not only during this transition, but also throughout my tenure as State School Superintendent."   "John brings a rich set of experiences to this position that will benefit all of public education in Georgia," said Will Schofield, Superintendent of Hall County Schools and Chair of the Transition Advisory Committee. "He has formed cooperative relationships with key stakeholders, including the governor-elect, which will be critical in moving public education forward."    Transition Advisory Committee   Honorary Co-Chair Senate President Pro-Tempore Tommie Williams  Honorary Co-Chair Senate Majority Leader Chip Rogers  Honorary Co-Chair House Speaker Pro-Tempore Jan Jones   Chair Will Schofield, Hall County School Superintendent  Vice-Chair Brad Bryant, Current State School Superintendent  Vice-Chair Chris Carr, Chief of Staff for Johnny Isakson  Vice-Chair Dr. Bettye Ray, Social Circle City School Superintendent  Senator-Elect John Albers  State Representative David Casas  State Representative Brooks Coleman  State Representative Tom Dickson  Dr. James E. Bostic, State Board of Education  Dr. Mary Sue Murray, State Board of Education  Dr. Arthur Horne, Dean, UGA College of Education  J. Alvin Wilbanks, Gwinnett County School Superintendent  Dr. Fred Rayfield, Decatur County School Superintendent  Dr. Susan Andrews, Muscogee County School Superintendent  Dr. Stephen Smith, Lowndes County School Superintendent  Dr. Sandy Addis, Executive Director of Pioneer RESA  Shelly Smith, Executive Director of First District RESA  Ronnie Williams, Executive Director of West GA RESA  Tom Wilson, Associate Superintendent for Standards-Based Learning, Georgia Department of Education  Darrell Cooper, VP of Local Field Operations, Methods, and Support, ATT  Ann Cramer, Director of IBM Corporate Community Relations and Public Affairs in North America  Joy Hawkins, VP of Regional Education, Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce  Sandra Mercier, Retired Former Fannin County School Superintendent  J. Brian Preston, Henry County School Board  Daniel Dooley, Executive VP of Sales, Classworks  Cathy Myers, President of CTAE Resource Network