Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

State Board of Education member Jason Downey to hold 8th district public hearing

​State Board of Education member Jason Downey will hold a public hearing for citizens in the 8th Congressional District on Tuesday, April 16, from 7 to 8 p.m. at Perry High School, 1307 North Avenue, Perry, GA 31069.


The purpose of the hearing is to hear comments from interested citizens and educators within the congressional district regarding K-12 public education. Those wishing to speak should sign in upon arrival. For more information, please contact Geraldine Price at


The Georgia Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of disability in admission to, or access to, or operations of its programs, services, or activities. Individuals who need assistance or auxiliary aids for participation in this public forum are invited to make their needs known to no later than 72 hours before the scheduled event.


The 8th Congressional District includes the following school districts:

  • Atkinson County
  • Baldwin County
  • Ben Hill County
  • Berrien County
  • Bibb County (partial)
  • Bleckley County
  • Brooks County
  • Clinch County
  • Coffee County
  • Colquitt County
  • Cook County
  • Crisp County
  • Dodge County
  • Echols County
  • Houston County (partial)
  • Irwin County
  • Jeff Davis County
  • Jones County
  • Lanier County
  • Lowndes County
  • Monroe County
  • Pulaski County
  • Telfair County
  • Tift County
  • Turner County
  • Twiggs County
  • Valdosta City
  • Wilcox County
  • Wilkinson County
  • Worth County


Find your Congressional District here.