Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Three Georgia schools named national Green Ribbon winners

​GaDOE’s Keisha Ford-Jenrette receives Director’s Award

MEDIA CONTACT: Matt Cardoza, GaDOE Communications Office, (404) 651-7358, or Keisha Ford-Jenrette, (404) 657-2949

May 8, 2017 – Three of Georgia’s public schools have been named national Green Ribbon Schools for 2017, the U.S. Department of Education announced this week. Gilbert Elementary School in Walker County, Kinchafoonee Primary School in Lee County, and Morningside Elementary School in Atlanta Public Schools were all honored with the Green Ribbon designation, which recognizes schools and districts that exercise a comprehensive approach to creating “green” environments by reducing environmental impact, promoting health, and ensuring a high-quality environmental and outdoor education for students.

The University of Georgia was also honored, along with Keisha Ford-Jenrette, the Recognitions Manager for the Georgia Department of Education. Ford-Jenrette received the 2017 ED-Green Ribbon Schools Director’s Award, and was honored for her efforts to advance school sustainability in the state of Georgia.

“I couldn’t be prouder of these schools – and their students and staffs – as they receive this national distinction,” State School Superintendent Richard Woods. “Georgia’s schools continue to chase excellence and put innovative practices into place, and I’m pleased to see that recognized. I’m also very proud of Ms. Ford-Jenrette, who as our Recognitions Manager has helped thousands of Georgia’s schools, students, and educators receive a much-deserved ‘thank you’ for their work.”

The honorees were named from a pool of candidates nominated by 28 states and the Department of Defense Department of Education Activity. The selectees include 39 public schools, including five magnet schools and one charter school, as well as six nonpublic schools. Forty-four percent of the 2017 honorees serve a disadvantaged student body and 14 percent are rural. The postsecondary honorees include three career and technical and community colleges.

Through a partnership involving the Georgia Department of Education, Lt. Governor Casey Cagle, Captain Planet Foundation, the Turner Foundation, the U.S. Green Building Council of Georgia, the Clean Air Campaign and the University System of Georgia, three schools and a college were nominated to compete for the national award.

The list of all selected schools, districts, colleges, and universities, as well as their nomination packages, can be found here. A report with highlights on the 63 honorees can be found here. More information on the federal recognition award can be found here.