Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

State School Superintendent Richard Woods selects 2018-2019 Student Advisory Council

MEDIA CONTACT: Meghan Frick, GaDOE Communications Office, 404-463-4246,

-Follow GaDOE on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram at @GeorgiaDeptofEd


The list of students selected is at the bottom of this release.


September 10, 2018 – State School Superintendent Richard Woods has selected 120+ Georgia students to serve on his 2018-2019 Student Advisory Council. Throughout the school year, these middle and high school students will meet with Superintendent Woods to discuss the impact of state policies in the classroom. Members of the Student Advisory Council will also discuss other issues related to education, serve as the Superintendent’s ambassadors to their respective schools, and participate in service projects to benefit schools and students.


“Every day, I’m faced with choices that will directly affect Georgia’s kids,” Superintendent Woods said. “Because of the students who serve on this council, I’m better able to make sound, informed decisions. I deeply value their input and involvement.”


Members were selected from a pool of nearly 1,000 applicants who applied to serve on the council. Students were chosen based on the strength of their essay answers, which focused on their ideas for public education as well as their community service experience. The students selected attend public schools all over the state, in every RESA district in Georgia.


Meetings of the Student Advisory Council will be held October 10, November 28, February 5, and May 13 for middle school students and October 11, November 29, February 6, and May 14 for high school students. Details will be sent via email to selected students.


2018-2019 Student Advisory Council – Middle School


First Name ​Last Name ​Gra​de RESA​ School District​
Aaron Yang 7 Northeast Georgia Oconee County 
Addison Payne 8 Northwest Georgia Bartow County
Anna  Rinker 8 Southwest Georgia Grady County
Aurelia Brown 7 Northeast Georgia Commerce City Schools
Autumn  Parham 8 Pioneer Lumpkin County
Barrett Nardi 8 Heart of Georgia Dodge County
Belle Solomon 7 West Georgia Troup County
Brayden  Fuentes 8 North Georgia Cherokee County
Brett Lance 8 Northwest Georgia Bartow County
Brice Nunnallee 8 Central Savannah Columbia County
Camryn Vaughn 8 Heart of Georgia Dodge County
Chance Ruiz 7 Central Savannah SAIL Charter
Charlie  Wheeler 7 Northeast Georgia Jackson County 
Chason Bell 7 Metro Gwinnett County
Cooper Davis 8 Metro Fulton County
Corey Suber 7 Northeast Georgia Commerce City Schools
Dani  Mendell 7 Northeast Georgia Oconee County 
Daven Sears 8 Chattahoochee-Flint Quitman County 
Dee Oliver 8 Pioneer Franklin County
Diya Rao 8 Griffin Henry County
Emily Pahuamba 8 Pioneer Habersham County
Emma  Harris  8 Middle Georgia Peach County
Eres David 8 Griffin Henry County
Gabriella Miller 8 Middle Georgia Monroe County 
Gianna Thompson 7 Metro Forsyth County
Grace  Risinger 8 Northwest Georgia Paulding County
Grant  Miller 8 Metro Cobb County
Hadleigh Bell 8 First Wayne County
Hannah Cortes 8 First Appling County
Harrison Whitmore 8 Griffin Griffin-Spalding County
Ila Prabhuram 8 North Georgia Cherokee County
Isabella Cardoza 7 Griffin Henry County
Isabella Salcedo 7 Coastal Plains Lowndes County
Jack  Gaines 8 Pioneer Franklin County
Jackson  Hill 7 Coastal Plains Valdosta City Schools
Jason Jones 8 Metro Decatur City Schools
Jenna Woodard 8 Heart of Georgia Dodge County
Jessica  Hicks 8 West Georgia Coweta County
Jessica  James 7 Middle Georgia Georgia Academy for the Blind
Jodi Lopez 8 Southwest Georgia Grady County
John Lane 7 Central Savannah Columbia County
Kailey Whigham 8 Chattahoochee-Flint Quitman County 
Katelyn Barrett 7 First Effingham County
Kendrian Bell Jr 8 Metro Clayton County  
Kenzlee Blanton 7 First Wayne County
Kimora Mowatt 8 Heart of Georgia Laurens County
Kylei Cutts 8 Coastal Plains Tift County
Macire Kebe 8 Metro Gwinnett County
Matthew Bartel 12 Metro DeKalb County Schools
Mollie Lane 7 First Evans County
Nathaniel Dula 7 Metro Gwinnett County
Nigel Savage 8 Griffin Fayette County 
Phillip Porter 8 Metro Forsyth County
Preston Taylor 8 Northwest Georgia Paulding County
Sara Gore 8 Central Savannah Jefferson County 
Sean Czerner 8 North Georgia Cherokee County
Simon Toney 8 Central Savannah Columbia County
Sofia  Ali 7 Middle Georgia Bibb County
Trenton Brockington, Jr. 8 First Savannah-Chatham County 
Trevor Booton 8 West Georgia Troup County
Ty'Zairea Ceaser 8 Chattahoochee-Flint Quitman County 
Vyjayanthi Burma 8 Metro Fulton County
Walker  Barrett 8 Pioneer Hall County 



2018-2019 Student Advisory Council – High School


First Name​ Last Name​ ​Grade RESA​ School District​
Aaliyah   Phillips 11 West Georgia Coweta County
Aaron   Brooks 10 Middle Georgia Jasper County
Aaron   Johnson 11 Metro Fulton County
Abby  Matthews 11 Northwest Georgia Bartow County
Alana  Murray 10 Metro Forsyth County
Alex  Benoit 10 Northeast Georgia Oconee County
Alexandra   Cochon 9 Okefenokee Ware County
Alexandra   Comportie 12 Middle Georgia Houston County
Andres  Batocletti 9 Metro Cobb County
Annabelle  Howard 9 Okefenokee Charlton County
Arnav   Jain 11 Metro Gwinnett County
Ashford Bennett 11 Northeast Georgia Elbert County
Audrey  Long 12 Metro Douglas County
Austin   Daman 12 North Georgia Gilmer County
Ben Trofemuk 11 Middle Georgia Bibb County
Brady  Jacobs 12 Northwest Georgia Floyd County
Caleb   Moore 12 Southwest Georgia Thomas County
Caleb   Smith 12 Heart of Georgia Wheeler County
Cameron   Cromer 9 Southwest Georgia Dougherty County
Caroline  Beach 11 Northeast Georgia Madison County
Chandler   Harris 9 Griffin Henry County
Chase  Beckman 11 Coastal Plains Tift County
Cristian   Vergara 12 Northwest Georgia Dalton City
Daizha   Outlaw 12 Middle Georgia Monroe County Schools
Daley   Culberson 10 Northwest Georgia Walker County Schools
Elizabeth-Anne  Thornton 10 Coastal Plains Valdosta City
Eva   Hobson 12 West Georgia Carrollton City 
George  Moore 11 Pioneer Stephens County
Griffin   Richie 10 Metro Atlanta Public Schools
Haley  Alexander 12 Coastal Plains Tift County
How'Ron   Nesbitt 11 Metro Gwinnett County Schools
Imani  Gunnison 11 Metro Rockdale County
Isabella  Martinez 11 First District Bryan County Schools
Isabelle  Kinsey 9 Pioneer Dawson County
Janea   Clark 11 Chattahoochee-Flint Stewart County
Jersey  Scott 10 Oconee Johnson County
​Joshua ​Glass 9​ ​Southwest Georgia ​Thomas County
Jordan  Washington 11 Metro Douglas County
Judy-Ita   Charles 12 Middle Georgia State Schools
Justice  Evans 9 Metro Clayton County
Kaitlin   Quick 11 Pioneer Stephens County
Kamissha   Miles 12 Heart of Georgia Dublin City
Kandon  Fears 9 Metro DeKalb County
Karli  Williams 12 First District Jeff Davis County
Karoline Ponder 10 Coastal Plains Tift County
Kayana   Barber 9 Southwest Georgia Dougherty County
Kaylee   Tam 10 CSRA McDuffie County
Khidhr   Kotaria 10 Chattahoochee-Flint Muscogee County
Khlanna   Gibson 10 Griffin Henry County
Levi  Bell 11 Northeast Georgia Jefferson City
Maddie  Key 12 Middle Georgia Houston County Schools
Maliyah  Howell 11 Griffin Thomaston-Upson County
Margaret  Chang 10 Metro Cobb County
Mary Beth   Lowe 9 Metro  Forsyth County Schools
Mason  Dill 11 West Georgia Carrollton City Schools
Matthew   Page 11 Coastal Plains Lowndes County Schools
Myla  Awuah  12 Metro Clayton County
Nealy  Hiers 9 Coastal Plains Lowndes County Schools
Nigeria   Demmons 12 CSRA Richmond County Schools
Noah   Buice 11 Griffin Lamar County
Ross   LeRoy 12 CSRA Lincoln County
Sage  Perez 11 First District Glynn County
Sydney  Bell 11 Oconee Oconee County
Tirth  Patel 10 Southwest Georgia Pataula Charter Academy
Victoria   Clark 12 Metro  Clayton County
Zakwan   Khan 11 North Georgia Cherokee County