Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Georgia schools invited to apply for Schools of Excellence Award

Click here for rules and information for applicants.

Click here to submit your school’s application -- due June 30, 2020.

March 3, 2020 – The Georgia Department of Education is relaunching its Schools of Excellence Award, which recognizes high-achieving schools as well as those making the greatest gains.  

One school in each category will be recognized in each Congressional district in Georgia, based on five pillars: content mastery, school climate, operations, environmental and sustainability education, and innovation. Winning schools will also be awarded $1,000.

“Schools across Georgia are succeeding every day, providing new opportunities and opening new pathways for their students,” State School Superintendent Richard Woods said. “Schools of Excellence provides a much-needed recognition of those schools’ efforts and the impact they’re having on the children of our state.”   

The Meemic Foundation, a nonprofit established in 1992 to provide funding programs and other initiatives to support educational excellence, is the Title Sponsor of the Schools of Excellence program.

“The Meemic Foundation is proud to partner with the Georgia Department of Education to sponsor their Schools of Excellence program that will recognize and celebrate the superior achievements of esteemed Georgia schools,” said Pamela Harlin, Director of The Meemic Foundation. “We look forward to working with the Georgia Department of Education as we continue our dedicated mission to give back and honor those schools and their staffs that give so much to educate our youth.”

Any K-12 school may apply using the link above. Additional information is also linked. We suggest assembling a team to complete the application; this team might include teachers, parents, community leaders and students along with the district’s curriculum director, finance department representatives, food services director, facilities manager, and physical education director.​