Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

GaDOE awards STEM/STEAM professional learning grants

The list of awardees is available at the bottom of this release.

The Georgia Department of Education is awarding $397,425 in STEM/STEAM professional learning grants to help school districts expand science, technology, engineering, arts, and math options and opportunities for their students, State School Superintendent Richard Woods announced today.

The State Board of Education, at its May meeting, approved Superintendent Woods' recommendation to award STEM/STEAM Professional Learning Grants to 15 school districts. The awardees may use the grant funds to expand STEM/STEAM educational opportunities and support the development or expansion of STEM/STEAM learning and certification goals. These grants will ultimately maximize student engagement, meet student needs and interests, and ensure the relevance of learning materials.  

"We continue our work to expand opportunities for all Georgia public school students, including quality STEM and STEAM instruction," Superintendent Woods said. “These grants will provide opportunities for teachers to engage in professional learning, and as a result, strengthen the STEM and STEAM education students receive."

STEM/STEAM Professional Learning Grant Awardees

  • Atlanta Public Schools
  • Bartow County School System
  • Bryan County Schools
  • Cherokee County School District
  • Clayton County Public Schools
  • Columbia County School District
  • DeKalb County School District
  • Evans County Charter School System
  • Fannin County Schools
  • Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Harris County School District
  • Jackson County School System
  • Newton County Schools
  • Pike County Schools
  • Savannah-Chatham County Public School System