Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

 Superintendent's Parent Advisory Council

The State Superintendent of School’s Parent Advisory Council is a group of parents from across the state that meets to discuss education in Georgia. Advisory Council members are particularly focused on how to increase parent and family engagement to ensure student success. Members meet several times throughout the school year with State School Superintendent serving as advisors and acting as ambassadors. They share the information learned with members of their communities, other families, and schools. Parents are nominated to serve on the PAC by their local school district at the beginning of each school year. Members are chosen by a committee of Georgia Department of Education representatives based on the applicant’s response to questions. During the meetings parents provide feedback and input on new policies, projects, and materials that influence and impact students and their families.

2015 Superintendent's Parent Advisory Council Members

Loli Anderson Burke County Schools
Terrilyn  Ball Valdosta City Schools
Amy Barrington Bryant Crisp County Schools
Patricia Chisholm Savannah-Chatham County Schools
​Penny ​Clevenger ​​Paulding County Schools
Shikera Cook Marietta City Schools
LaTonja Dotson Terrell County Schools
Allyson  Dozier Fulton County Schools
Amber Gibson Stewart County Schools
Kelly  Golden Tift County Schools
Cassandra Leah Hazlewood Cherokee County Schools
Joseph  Hennesy, III Coffee County Schools
Susie  Howard Randolph County Schools
Rafael Huerta Dalton City Schools
Muna Jama DeKalb County Schools
Ann Malkoc Gwinnett County Schools
Katie Olson Bulloch County Schools
Kathy  Peaden Griffin-Spaulding County Schools
Jenny Poitevint Pelham City Schools
Janet Porter Atlanta Area School for the Deaf
Deborah  Rogers Coweta County Schools
Tynesha Rowland Greene County Schools
Leah Smith Thomas County Schools
B. J. Starling Floyd County Schools
Kelly  Strickland Raney Butts County Schools
Sheila R. Thomas Dougherty County Schools
Jeneverlyn  Tookes Macon County Schools
Wendy Underwood Liberty County Schools
Brigitte Y. Willis Columbia County Schools
Nancy Zetmeir Charlton County Schools

 Georgia Parent Leadership Award Winners

Gail Bouie Decatur County Schools
Kimberly Fisher Cherokee County Schools
Mariana Hernandez -Goodwin Gwinnett County Schools
Karen Preble Camden County Schools
Edward Richardson Cobb County Schools
Laura Shyman Cobb County Schools

 State Organizational Members

Michelle Gearhart Parent to Parent of Georgia


Sanabria​ Communities in Schools of Georgia
Angel Little Georgia PTA
Laura Miller United Way of Greater Atlanta
Rachael Oliver Georgia Family Connection Partnership
Stacey Schaff Bright From the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning

​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​