Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Superintendent Barge and Georgia PTA Announce the 2012 Georgia Parent Leadership Awards

​MEDIA CONTACT: Matt Cardoza, GaDOE Communications Office, (404) 651-7358,  
- Follow us on Twitter and Facebook
February 24, 2012- State School Superintendent Dr. John D. Barge and the Georgia Parent Teacher Association last week awarded six 2012 Georgia Parent Leadership Awards.
"We know that parent engagement helps create a better learning environment for our students," said Superintendent Barge. "I commend these parents for their leadership and involvement in the education and overall well-being of all the students in their child's school and school district."

The Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) and the Georgia Parent Teacher Association (GA PTA) created the annual award to recognize parents across the state for their outstanding leadership in creating a foundation of support for student achievement and success.

Parent leaders are nominated each November during Georgia’s Parent Engagement Month by public school personnel. Any caregiver who assumes the responsibility for nurturing and caring for a student’s entire well-being consisting of educational, emotional, spiritual, and physical health can be considered.

Six Parent Leadership Awards are given each year. Two parents, one representing a Title I school and one representing a Non-Title I school are selected as winners in each of these three categories: Elementary School, Middle School, and High School. This year, there were no nominations received in the Non-Title I Middle School category, therefore two Non-Title I Elementary School Parent Leadership Awards were granted.

Winners of the Georgia Parent Leadership Award are afforded opportunities throughout the year to share their story by promoting and assisting parent engagement activities at the state level.  The winners received their award during a special ceremony honoring their achievement on Saturday, February 18, 2012 during the Statewide Family Engagement Conference in Athens.

Award Winners:
·        Tyler Barr, Mirror Lake Elementary, Douglas County Schools
·        Sara Harp, Minter Elementary, Fayette County Schools
·        Susan Dodson, Timothy Road Elementary, Clarke County Schools
·        Elizabeth Caldwell, Jasper County Middle, Jasper County Schools
·        Krysia Suttles, East Paulding High, Paulding County Schools
·        Dennis Holsey, Sr., Hancock Central High, Hancock County Schools

More Information
Details about the Georgia Parent Leadership Award and Winners can be found here.