Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


 Office of School Improvement / Division of School and District Effectiveness


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​School Improvement

The Office of School Improvement provides a statewide system of supports and processes for school improvement. ​

School and District Effectiveness​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

The Division of School and District Effectiveness (SDE) provides a statewide system of supports and processes for school and district improvement. Our work is to engage with and support schools and districts in their improvement efforts, providing helpful tools, resources, ​and​ professional learning. SDE collaborates with other divisions within the Georgia Department of Education, as well as external agencies such as the Regional Education Service Agencies (RESAs), Georgia Learning Resources System (GLRS), and colleges and universities to provide school and district support. While SDE works with all Georgia schools and districts, the primary focus is on schools identified as needing comprehensive or targeted support and improvement. ​

Vision 

​​​What we envision for Georgia’s future: Quality leadership resulting in effective instruction and learning for all students in every Georgia region, district, school, and classroom.  

Mission 

Our Strategy:​ To​ provide a s​uperior system of statewide support to districts and schools in Georgia to advance school improvement efforts that positively influence student le​arning. ​

Purpose

Our role in getting to the future we envision: To increase coll​ective leadership capacity to understand what effective schools and districts know and do, and to support the leaders to own their improvement work on organizational systems.​ 

​Georgia's Systems of Continuous Improvement

​​​​The Georgia’s Systems of Continuous Improvement framework focuses on the systems and structures (the “what”) that mus​t be in pl​ace for sustained improvement in student outcomes. It also utilizes a problem-solving model (the “how”) to provide a clear process for identifying improvement needs, planning for improvement, and implementing, ​monitoring, and evaluating the improvement efforts.​​ Click here.


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


 Contact Information

Stephanie Johnson, Ed.D.​​​​​
Deputy Superintendent of School Improvement
Phone: 678-326-2778
Email: stjohnson@doe.k12.ga.us ​​

​Nancy Walker 
Administrative Assistant 
Phone: 404-803-3419
Email: nawalker@doe.k12.ga.us

​Amy Alderman
Interim Division Director
Phone: 404-308-2503
Email: ​aalderman@doe.k12.ga.us​

Shawn Keim
Interim Division Program Manager 
Email: ​skeim@doe.k12.ga.us

Anthony Pack
North Area Program Manager
Email: anthony.pack@doe.k12.ga.us

Susan Patrick
Metro Area Program Manager
Phone: 404-304-3625
Email: spatrick@doe.k12.ga.us

Janie Fields
South Area Program Manager​
Phone: 404-272-8796 
Email: jfields@doe.k12.ga.us

Samuel Taylor, Ph.D. 
Alternative Education Program Manager
Phone: 404-293-0469​
Email: staylor@doe.k12.ga.us