Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


 State Board of Education


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Georgia Board of Education with the State School Superintendent will provide the statewide leadership ​necessary to ensure the opportunity for each public school student to be successf​ul. We will work to create an environment in which local schools and systems are​ empowered to develop policies and programs that meet the educational needs of their students, that support teachers, and that involve parents and communities in​​ the education process.

 

Georgia's Congressional Districts
The State Board of Education's ​districts are aligned with Georgia's Congressional Districts. To find out which Congressional District you live in, use the
Find Your Representative tool

 ​

View Larger Map 

Click on a State Board m​e​mbe​​r's name for bi​ography information.​

Photo of State Board of Education member Nicholas Ellis

Nicholas Ellis 
First Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: nicholas.ellis@doe.k12.ga.us


Photo of Frank Griffin

William Franklin “Frank" Griffin, Jr.
Second Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: frank.griffin@doe.k12.ga.us


Photo of Helen Rice

Helen Odom Rice
Third Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: hrice@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Photo of Lisa Kinnemore

Lisa Kinnemore
Fourth Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: lisa.kinnemore@doe.k12.ga.us


Photo of Kenneth Mason

Kenneth Mason
Fifth Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: kmason@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Photo of Leonte Benton

Leonte Benton
Sixth Congressional District

Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: leonte.benton@doe.k12.ga.us

 

 

Photo of Mr. Richard Valladares

Richard Valladares
Seventh Congressional District

Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: richard.valladares@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Photo of Jason Downey 

Jason Downey
Eighth Congressional District
Chair
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: jason.downey@doe.k12.ga.us


Photo of Martha Zoller

Martha Zoller
Ninth Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: martha.zoller@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Photo of Dr. Stanley W. DeJarnett  

Dr. Stanley W. DeJarnett
Tenth Congressional District
Vice Chair
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: stanley.dejarnett@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Photo of Scott Sweeney

Scott Sweeney​
Eleventh Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: scott.sweeney@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Photo of Matt W. Donaldson

Matt W. Donaldson
Twelfth Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: matt.donaldson@doe.k12.ga.us


Photo of Jennifer Fennell

Jennifer Fennell
Thirteenth Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: Jennifer.Fennell@doe.k12.ga.us


Photo of Phenna Petty

Phenna Rene Petty
Fourteenth Congressional District
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: phenna.petty@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Photo of Christy Todd

Christy Todd
Ex-Officio (Georgia Teacher of the Year)
Tel: (404) 657-7410
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: christy.todd@doe.k12.ga.us

 

Photo of State School Superintendent Richard Woods

Richard Woods
Chief Executive Officer
Tel: (404) 656-2800
Fax: (770) 302-7629
E-mail: state.superintendent@doe.k12.ga.us

 



​​