Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​State School Superintendent Richard Woods creates Superintendents’ Advisory Council

MEDIA CONTACT: Matt Cardoza, GaDOE Communications Office, (404) 651-7358,  

-Follow DOE on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


August 10, 2015State School Superintendent Richard Woods has created a Superintendents’ Advisory Council, composed of 19 local superintendents from urban, suburban and rural districts in every RESA in Georgia, to provide feedback on the local impact of state-level decisions. The group convened for its first meeting in July, and will continue to meet regularly to discuss issues at the local level.


“My parent, student, and teacher advisory councils have been invaluable in my decision-making,” Superintendent Woods said. “But there was no central way to gather the opinions of local superintendents, who frequently deal with the impact of state policies. This group is a cross section of the state of Georgia and will add another facet to our efforts to know what’s happening on the ground level of education, and make decisions accordingly.”  


Superintendent Woods also meets regularly with a Student Advisory Council, Parent Advisory Council, and Teacher Advisory Council, in addition to visiting schools and meeting with education stakeholders around the state. A list of the 2015 Superintendents’ Advisory Council members is below.


2015 GaDOE Superintendents’ Advisory Council (alphabetical by district name)


Meria Carstarphen – Atlanta Public Schools


Noris Price​ – Baldwin County


Curtis Jones – Bibb County


Michele Taylor – Calhoun City


John Lairsey – Charlton County


Frank Petruzielo – Cherokee County


Phil Lanoue – Clarke County


Sandra Carraway – Columbia County


Fred Williams – Dublin City


Joseph Barrow – Fayette County


Jeff Bearden – Forsyth County


Matthew Cooper – Habersham County


Bobby Conner – Irwin County


Ray Hill – Macon County


Floyd Fort – Pelham City


Gina Williams – Tattnall County


Phil Williams – Trion City


Cole Pugh – Troup County


John Zauner – Executive Director, Georgia School Superintendents Association