Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Eight Georgia schools receive National Blue Ribbon recognition

MEDIA CONTACTS: Meghan Frick,, 404-463-4246 or Keisha Ford-Jenrette,, 404-657-2949

-Follow GaDOE on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram at @GeorgiaDeptofEd

Note: The U.S. Department of Education has photos and details on each school at

October 1, 2018 – Eight Georgia public schools were named 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools today.

Blue Ribbon is a national recognition from the U.S. Department of Education. This year, eight Georgia public schools received the honor: Austin Elementary School in DeKalb County, Britt David Elementary Computer Magnet Academy in Muscogee County, Heards Ferry Elementary School in Fulton County, Kittredge Magnet School in DeKalb County, Lake Windward Elementary School in Fulton County, Settles Bridge Elementary School in Forsyth County, Shakerag Elementary School in Fulton County Schools, and Simpson Elementary School in Gwinnett County.

“I congratulate these eight schools whose efforts on behalf of students have been recognized nationally,” State School Superintendent Richard Woods said. “All over the state of Georgia, communities, leaders, educators, parents and students are coming together to create brighter future, and a brighter Georgia. That light is shining brighter and brighter every day.”  

Schools are chosen in two categories (see the full criteria descriptions here):

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests. Student subgroup performance and high school graduation rates are also at the highest levels.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and all students over the past five years. Student subgroup performance and high school graduation rates for each subgroup are at high levels.

Five Georgia private schools also received the National Blue Ribbon recognition: Athens Academy in Athens, Christ the King School in Atlanta, Holy Redeemer Catholic School in Johns Creek, Mount Bethel Christian Academy in Marietta, and Saint James Catholic School in Savannah.

The selection process for private schools differs from the process for public schools. For more information, click here.