Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Superintendent Barge Selected to Serve on Board of State School Chiefs

MEDIA CONTACT: Matt Cardoza, GaDOE Communications Office, (404) 651-7358,

CCSSO Contact: Kate Dando, (202)-336-7034,


Nov. 20, 2012 – State School Superintendent Dr. John Barge was elected on Saturday to The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) 2013-2014 Board of Directors. Elections took place during the 2012 Annual Policy Forum and Business Meeting in Savannah.
“I am honored to have been elected to serve on such a well-respected board of my counterparts across the country,” said Superintendent Barge. “We are often told that Georgia is a national leader in education reform, and being selected to serve on this board is a testament to that good work. The initiatives that The Council of Chief State School Officers is engaged in are extremely important for the future of education in our country. One of the most important issues we are working on together is encouraging Congress to reauthorize the Elementary and Secondary Education Act so it is more flexible for states to develop their own school improvement plans.”

CCSSO Board of Directors
President: Mitchell Chester, Commissioner of Education, Massachusetts
President-Elect: Terry Holliday, Commissioner of Education, Kentucky
June Atkinson, Superintendent of Public Instruction, North Carolina
John Barge, State School Superintendent, Georgia
Tony Bennett, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Indiana*
Michael Flanagan, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Michigan
Jason Glass, Director of Education, Iowa Department of Education
Tom Luna, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Idaho
Pat Wright, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Virginia


*Seat reopens in January 2013 after Bennett completes his term as Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction