Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Georgia Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests – Modified (CRCT-M)

The CRCT-M program was retired after the 2013-2014 Summer Retest administration.  The Georgia Milestones Assessment System has replaced the CRCT-M beginning with the 2014-2015 school year.  For more information about the Georgia Milestones Assessment System, please click here.


Transition from the CRCT-M to the General Assessment:  Information for Georgia's Parents

What is the purpose of the CRCT-M?

The CRCT-M is a grade-level alternate assessment for eligible students who receive special education services. The program has been designed to meet federal requirements. According to federal regulations, all students, including those receiving special education services, must be assessed on grade-level content standards. States may design an alternate assessment based on modified academic achievement standards for those students who struggle, due to their disability, to demonstrate grade-level proficiency in the same timeframe as their peers. Georgia has created the CRCT-M as an avenue for these students to demonstrate what they have learned.

What content areas and grade levels are tested?

The CRCT-M assesses the same grade-level state-adopted curriculum as the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT). The CRCT-M is available in the content areas of reading, English language arts, and mathematics in grades 3 through 8. Eligible students must participate in the Science and Social Studies CRCT as the CRCT-M is not offered in those content areas. Items on the CRCT-M have been edited and/or enhanced to increase the accessibility for the eligible students, allowing them to demonstrate more consistently what they know and can do.

All students must participate in Georgia’s state mandated testing program. In elementary and middle school grades, special education students may take the CRCT, the CRCT-M, or the Georgia Alternate Assessment (GAA) depending upon the severity of disability and the interaction of the disability with the content. Each student’s Individual Educational Program (IEP) team determines which test the students will participate in, using guidelines developed by committees of Georgia educators. For the CRCT-M, the determination is made by subject or content area. A student’s disability may impact one content area, such as reading, but not another, such as mathematics. The IEP team must carefully consider how the student’s disability interacts with each content area and whether the disability precludes the student from demonstrating grade-level proficiency rather than some other mitigating factor. Importantly, an eligible student must be receiving instruction based on the state-adopted curriculum for the grade level in which he/she is enrolled. Additionally, his or her IEP must include goals that support the student’s access to the subject area curriculum standards.


 Contact Information

Assessment Administration Division 
Phone: (404) 656-2668
Toll-Free Phone:  (800) 634-4106

Fax: (404) 656-5976