Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


 Office of School Improvement / Division of School and District Effectiveness


The Division of School and District Effectiveness (SDE) provides a statewide system of supports and processes for school and district improvement. Our work is to engage with and support schools and districts in their improvement efforts, providing helpful tools, resources, and professional learning.  SDE collaborates with other divisions within the Georgia Department of Education as well as external agencies such as the Regional Education Service Agencies (RESAs), Georgia Learning Resources System (GLRS), and colleges and universities to provide school and district support. While SDE works with all Georgia schools and districts, the primary focus is on schools identified as needing comprehensive or targeted support and improvement. 

Vision 
​​​What we envision for Georgia’s future: Quality leadership resulting in effective instruction and learning for all students in every Georgia region, district, school, and classroom.  

Mission 
Our Strategy:​ To​ provide a superior system of statewide support to districts and schools in Georgia to advance school improvement efforts that positively influence student learning. 

Purpose

Our role in getting to the future we envision: To increase collective leadership capacity to understand what effective schools and districts know and do, and to support the leaders to own their improvement work on organizational systems.​ 

​Georgia's Systems of Continuous Improvement 
The Georgia Department of Education’s strategic plan emphasizes transforming the agency into one that provides meaningful support to schools and districts​. The agency has developed a common, continuous improvement framework to ensure that these efforts are aligned across all agency divisions, departments, and programs. The Georgia’s Systems of Continuous Improv​ement framework focuses on the systems and structures (the “what”) that must be in pl​ace fo​r sustained improvement in student outcomes. It also utilizes a problem-solving model (the “how”) to provide a clear process for identifying improvement needs, planning for improvement, and implementing, monitoring, and evaluating the improvement efforts.​​ Click here.


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

 Contact Information

​​Stephanie Johnson, Ed.D.
Deputy Superintendent of School Improvement
Phone: 404-651-7277
Fax: 404-657-0546
Email: stjohnson@doe.k12.ga.us ​​

Ketris Williams
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 404-651-7277
Email: kwilliams@doe.k12.ga.us

Faya Paul, Ed.D.
Division Director

Phone: 404-463-3456
Email: fpaul@doe.k12.ga.us

​Nancy Walker 
Administrative Assistant 
Phone: 404-657-9971 
Email: nawalker@doe.k12.ga.us

​Amy Alderman
Division Program Manager
Phone: 404-308-2503
Email: ​aalderman@doe.k12.ga.us​

Jo Johnson
Interim North Area Program Manager
Phone: 404-326-7556
Email: ​mjjohnson@doe.k12.ga.us


Susan Patrick
Metro Area Program Manager
Phone: 404-304-3625
Email: spatrick@doe.k12.ga.us

Janie Fields
South Area Program Manager

Phone: 404-272-8796 
Email: jfields@doe.k12.ga.us


Samuel Taylor, Ph.D 
Alternative Education Program Manager
Phone: 404-657-7155
Email: staylor@doe.k12.ga.us

Patty Rooks, Ed.D.
SIG 1003(g) Program Manager
Phone: 404-576-4213
Email: prooks@doe.k12.ga.us


SDE Staff Contact List​
Collaborative Regions Map​​​

 Legislation