Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

 Division of School and District Effectiveness


ADVANCING LEADERSHIP / TRANSFORMING SCHOOLS

Georgia's Systems of Continuous Improvement

The Georgia Department of Education’s strategic plan emphasizes transforming the agency into one that provides meaningful support to schools and districts​. The agency has developed a common, continuous improvement framework to ensure that these efforts are aligned across all agency divisions, departments, and programs. The Georgia’s Systems of Continuous Improvement framework focuses on the systems and structures (the “what”) that must be in place for sustained improvement in student outcomes. It also utilizes a problem-solving model (the “how”) to provide a clear process for identifying improvement needs, planning for improvement, and implementing, monitoring, and evaluating the improvement efforts.​​ Click here.

Vision
What we envision for Georgia’s future:  Quality leadership resulting in effective instruction and learning for all students in every Georgia region, district, school, and classroom. 

Mission

Our Strategy:  To provide a superior system of statewide support to districts and schools in Georgia to advance school improvement efforts that positively influence student learning.

Purpose

Our role in getting to the future we envision:  To increase collective leadership capacity to understand what effective schools and districts know and do, and to support the leaders to own their improvement work on organizational systems.

The Work

The work of the Division of School and District Effectiveness is to engage with and support schools and districts in their improvement efforts, providing helpful tools, resources, and professional learning.  The Division of School and District Effectiveness also collaborates with other entities within the Georgia Department of Education and external agencies such as the Regional Education Service Agencies (RESAs), the Georgia Learning Resources System (GLRS), and colleges and universities to provide district and school support. While the Division of School and District Effectiveness works with all Georgia schools and districts, the primary focus is on schools experiencing achievement challenges. 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

 

 Contact Information

 
​​Stephanie Johnson, Ed.D.
Deputy Superintendent of School Improvement
Phone: 404-651-7277
Fax: 404-657-0546
Email: stjohnson@doe.k12.ga.us ​​

Ketris Williams
Administrative Assistant
Phone:404-651-7277
Email: kwilliams@doe.k12.ga.us  

Faya Paul, Ed.D.
Division Director

Phone:404-463-3456
Email: fpaul@doe.k12.ga.us 

Amy Alderman
Interim Atlanta Office Program Manager 
Phone: 404-308-2503
Email: ​aalderman@doe.k12.ga.us​

Nancy Walker 
Secretary

Phone: 404-657-9971
Email: nawalker@doe.k12.ga.us​ 

Jo Johnson
​Interim North Area Program Manager
Email: ​mjjohnson@doe.k12.ga.us

Susan Patrick
Metro Area Program Manager
Phone: 404-656-2638
Email: spatrick@doe.k12.ga.us

Janie Fields
Interim South Area Program Manager
Phone: 404-272-8796 
Email: 
jfields@doe.k12.ga.us

Samuel Taylor, Ph.D 
Alternative Education Program Manager
Phone: 404-657-7155
Email: staylor@doe.k12.ga.us

Patty Rooks, Ed.D.
SIG Program Manager
Phone: 404-576-4213
Email: prooks@doe.k12.ga.us


SDE Staff Contact List​
Collaborative Regions Map​​​

 

 Frequently Asked Questions

 
 

 Legislation

 
 

 Standards

 
 

 Helpful Links